Greetings from Slovenia

If we discus about our best traditional dishes, Prekmurje layer pie is favorite for most of us.

pg6irenasdotsThe recipe is simple, but takes long hours to prepare it. I found original one at http://www.disi-po-prekmurju.si/en/informacija.asp?id_meta_type=50&id_informacija=301 It describe the procedure very well. Means that I’ll give you just couple short notes 😉

There are two mixtures, that we need to prepare. Very basic, but you’ll be so grateful for not saving on your kitchen stand mixer this time 😉 While they are resting in a fridge, 4 stuffing has to be prepared: walnuts, soft cheese (ricotta), apple and poppy seed fillings.

pg3pg4

When all those are prepared, its time to combine all layers. Baking pan could be ceramic or cast iron. Round or square. Here we go: thin mixture, poppy seeds, mixture, soft cheese, mixture, walnuts, mixture, apples, mixture. Lots of work done, but sorry we are not finish yet 😉 Repeat it all once again 🙂 Bake it for 60 minuter in preheated oven at 180 C.

pg8pg10pg9

A good, sweet wine goes very well along with that tasty dish.

Enjoy!!

6 comments

  1. This looks SO delicious! If I had not had so many sweets this past week, I’d have to try it right away, but now I must wait a bit. I can tell this will be a favorite for my husband. Thanks for the lovely photos, too!

    1. Mollie, thank you a lot!!
      It was delicious 😉 Wish you a good luck and can’t wait to see photos your version. Enjoy!

  2. Oh, I’d love a bite! I’ve only been to Slovenia once and I missed out on this treat! Perhaps that means I got to go back… 🙂 Thanks for sharing this!

    1. Thanks 😉 You can either do that or you can prepare it yourself at home 😉

  3. Looks delicious!

  4. andrejjakopic · · Reply

    My grandmother prepared it for holiday. Was very good!

Leave a Reply

