Chicken pie

I totally fall in love with these little ceramic mini cocottes. They are available in large variation of shapes, sizes and colours. Perfect for me as I can’t easily decide on colour or shape. Therefore I am using smaller ones that holds one portion each. That is reasonably handy as I am preparing dinner for vegetarian and non vegetarian. That way I could prepare Chicken pie for my boyfriend (huh, I am far too old for a boyfriend 😦 ) and vegetarian version for myself at the same time. Plus dinner is served in the same dish as was cooked, that means no extra pot to clean at the end 😀 Oh and one more – it is  so much fan to have each of them in different color! Seriously 😀

lp0

For the pastry knead 200 g white all-purpose flour with 100 g cold butter, a pinch of salt and one large egg in nice and firm mixture. Rest it in the fridge for about 1/2 hour.

For the filling: chicken (use about 400 g) should be cutted in beet size. Bake it in a  fry pan with spices by your own choice. Add 1/3 cup of mushrooms, 1 cup vegetable mix and 1 cup water and cook for about 8 minutes. Vegetarian version: instead of chicken use 1 mozzarella, but add it at the end. Stead 1 cup cream with 1 spoon mustard, 1 spoon parsley, pepper and garlic powder.

Use pastry to incase ceramic dish bottoms and sides. Fill it up with chicken, mushrooms and cheesy mixture and cover it with the rest of pastry. Bake it in the oven for about 45 minutes at 175 C. Serve with green salad and Lettice.

Have a nice friday 😉

8 comments

  1. I too love those little ceramic dishes, they are nice for baking and make a nice presentation. Your pictures look great 🙂

    1. Nice to know I am not the only crazy person 😉
      And thanks!

  2. I love the cocottes (and the chicken pot pie looks good too!) I have been trying to find some that are the right size and not too expensive!

    1. Thank you! They are pricey I agree. But I’ll rather be without one pair of shoes than without them 😉 With lots of good luck you might find cheaper at grocery store, kitchen department. Crossing fingers for you to get them as soon as possible!

  3. Love mini anything! Looks really good.

    1. Thank you so much for that!

  4. This looks very tasty and so cute!!!!

    1. Thank you 😉

Leave a Reply

