Cheesy tortiglinis & red chicory salad

Macaroni&cheese is not known as a healthy dish as is rich in fats. But it could be prepared lighter way. Served beside large bowl of fresh chicory salad makes a healthy dinner prepared in less than 15 minutes.

mc0irenasdots

200 g tortiglionis
1 cup milk
2 spoons corn flour
100-150 g light cheese
pepper
1 table-spoon of cut parsley 
2 slices feta cheese
parmesan or gorgonzola to decorate

Cook tortiglionis in large amount of salted water til ala dente. Do not add any oil as we needed pasta to be sticky. Meanwhile stir corn flour in to the milk and cook it for couple minutes or till it ticks. Add grated cheese – I like mozzarella, but is up to you. When the cheese is melted add pepper and parsley and stir cooked macaroni in it. Serve on plates, spread feta and parmesan/gorgonzola slices over it.

200 g red chicory
200 g white chicory
1 carrot
sea salt, olive oil and vinegar by your choice

While preparing tortiglionis wash chicory and cut it in to a narrow stripes. Add grated carrot, salt, oil and vinegar.

mc6irenasdots

Have a nice day!

13 comments

  1. We usually make pasta&cheese with a white roux (plain flour&melted butter) – your version is definitely a lot more healthy than what we do!!

    1. I used to prepare it as you do – it was to heavy. I exchange butter with cream – was better but still quite heavy. Then I started with milk and now is finally ok 🙂
      btw… where is your ‘next’ post? 🙂

      1. I write in very random intervals. Yes, it’s totally not what one should do…
        But since I post purely for fun, I stick to the “only when I feel like” rhythm…
        To bad for my readers, I know! And I do apologize!
        What keeps me from posting right no?!
        Berlinale was on, today right in to post production of a project, a friend who’s been visiting for a week and frost outside numbing my mind 🙂
        Oh, yes and, besides all that: I’m busy with reading 🙂
        But eventually I always go back to publishing!

      2. I understand that as I post only for fun as well. As this is just my second month doing that is understandably more exciting. But it is big question how much time will I have for that after 6 months 😉
        However, crossing fingers for you to be in the mood for new one shortly 🙂

  2. Mmmmm – cheese! We use Feta frequently because the taste is bright, so not so much needed – saves calories. For a taste treat, try a few sprinkles of gorgonzola in place of the . . . oh, wait, you already said that. Great minds run in the same channels, it seems. Can you get pine nuts (pignoli) there? Lightly toasted in a heavy skillet – fabulous treat! Toasty flavor is a real complement to the light taste of the pasta and cheese. Good sprinkled on simple salads, too.

    1. Ooo I love Feta!! Now you make me laugh – but yes, gorgonzola or something like that is calorie saver as has a strong flavor. Pine nuts and cheesy macaroni? I’ll certainly try that 😉 I only use them on rhubarb&raspberry tart or as spread over the quiche – I also like pistachio for that.

  3. Great recipe, I love feta, it looks delicious 😀

    1. Thanks 😉 You probably know better how (un)healthy it is than I so please correct if I was wrong 😉

  4. You have a beautiful blog! The recipe looks delicious!

    1. Thank you, I am glad you liked it! Your blog is great too!

  5. You have a very nice blog. Love to read it. These macaroniess looks delicious!

    1. Thank you very much for that!

  6. I made macaroni & cheese last night with leftover gammon from Easter and it wasn’t light or elegant like yours but tasty ;-). I would love to try your version though.

Leave a Reply

