Red is for red apples pie

It is so nice to spend couple of hours with friends. These little chit-chat makes wonders to us. If with freshly baked apple pie and tea even better.

applepie000irenasdots

1 cup white flour
1 spoon corn flour
1 cup butter or margarine
1 pinch salt
1/3 cup sugar
1 cup nuts, melted
2 spoons vanilla sugar
cold water as needed

Squeeze all ingredients in a nice firm dough. Live it in the fridge to rest for about 1/2 hour.

1 kg organic apples
1 vanilla stick
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup nuts, cropped
1/2 cup dry figs, cropped
3 table spoons homemade plum jam

Meantime peel and grate apples. Mix vanilla, sugar, nuts and figs between grated apples. Spread 2/3 dough over the ceramic pot. Spread jam over the bottom and fill up the pot with apples. Cover it with leftΒ 1/3 dough. Decorate it with leftovers. Bake at 180 degrees for about 40 minuter or till light brown. When cooled down spread it with melted sugar and serve it.

applepie3irenasdots

Have a wonderful week!

16 comments

  1. I see your “dots”! ;-> The pie looks scrumptious!! I love pie, but don’t make desserts any more. So easy to gain weight as one gets older.

    1. And she finally showed them πŸ˜‰ Thanks for that! I know what you mean, that is why I prefer apples from that old trees – they are sweet enough that I don’t need to add any sugar. Plus I bake only when I have guests πŸ™‚

  2. I simply love your attention to detail…these little flowers on the apple pie – amazing!

    1. Thank you Sanne! There was actually more ‘flowers’ as cookies from leftover dough, but I ate them all before photographing πŸ˜‰

  3. Wonderful shots! The pie looks so tempting that I will now go and bake something

    1. He he, that made my evening πŸ™‚ Hope you’ll share what was made… πŸ˜‰

  4. Apple pie is my favorite! Looks delicious. Beautiful photos πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks Cindy – your compliments are always so nice!

  5. The decorations on the crust make this the prettiest pie I’ve ever seen!

    1. Thank you Krista I am glad you like it! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Love the little flowers and the flower hole! Perfect apple pie πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜‰

  7. I like how you use a bit of corn flour and the nuts in the crust for varied textures. Never had figs in apple pie–would love to try it!

    1. I’m glad you liked it πŸ˜‰ I love adding any kind of nuts or dried fruits to it – it compliment the apples so nicely!

  8. Absolutely stunning post. Your photography is breathtaking!

  9. Wow–did you make the flower decorations by hand or with some kind of cut out mechanism? What a photogenic pie!!

Leave a comment